Firestorm Armada

firestorm_banner

So I think its about time I actually discuss one of my favourite miniature war-games; Firestorm Armada. My love of Star Wars, Star Trek, and the Halo novels, have fueled my interests in space combat. Naturally, upon seeing the miniatures produced by Spartan Games, I fell in love with the idea of recreating famous space battles and changing the outcome of the battles. Despite this, after my few initial battles with my erstwhile opponents, we promptly stopped playing. Like so often with miniature war gaming, life got in the way. Now I am back, and ready to start a campaign with a friend and use this blog to document each stage of the campaign.

At this point I have both a Terran and Directorate starter fleets at my disposal and my opponent has Rathloza. I think I will use a Kurak Alliance support mainly composed of Terran, Tarakin, and Rhyushi elements. While I do love my Directorate fleet, I would like to use the actual fluff of Firestorm Armada in the campaign to some degree.

Now how to begin this campaign, this is commonly a problem I think for many and it generally stems from three different issues.

1) Poor Participation: probably the most common issue that arises. Its hard to keep people coming for each campaign event, especially when they incorporate more than 2 participants. I feel this can be fixed easily by ensuring that; a) You set reasonable game dates that work for both participants. ie: weekly is workable maybe during the summer but after that monthly or bi-monthly battles need to be planned to ensure that the individuals are able to continue with the campaign and work around real like. b) There is an element of flare in the campaign, by this I mean that there is some level of story behind the entire campaign and each battle regardless of the outcome flows well. I enjoy coming up with a level of fluff for my campaign so this will be a piece of cake and actually leads in the main part of my second point.

2) Having a fully developed campaign. I have participated in a few Warhammer 40k campaigns and it seemed more than once having each mission already planned out was actually a detriment to the enjoyment of the campaign. I feel a sense of randomness actually allows each event that occurs to feel more natural and story based.

3) Having a completely undeveloped campaign. The inverse of the above point, having zero plan for any campaign is a killer. No direction, no story, and no plan puts a big dampener on creating any fun or story driven campaign.

As you can tell from the above points I drive my campaigns with story and interactive for the participants.

firestorm-armada

Well then, what will be our story?

I haven’t really gotten that far.

Ultimately I think a starting escalation mission or two to get both of use familiarized with the rules again is probably a good idea. These would be small maybe 500pt engagements setting the tone for our campaign. One idea I had was a diplomatic meeting gone wrong, similar to the beginning of “A New Hope” in Star Wars. Of course I have already considered that The Battle for Endor needs to be recreated at one point or another, even the evacuation of Hoth would be great. The guys over at the Black Ocean have a number of great senarios that will work for themed battles as such.

So at this point I am going to work on establishing campaign rules and work on the background until we start our practice games.

With luck this should be a very exciting and engaging campaign.

All ahead full to the drawing board!

Leave a Reply

